Showing posts with label Hubby. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hubby. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

Family Brag Post

As I have grown older and moved away from home, I have made a lot of friends who have no idea who my family is. It's a shame, really--because they're an awesome group of people. I can't imagine NOT knowing them. Ok, so to all you people who must be utterly miserable because you don't know my family, 
I'll introduce you.   :) 





This is my older brother, Sam. When we were little we hated each other. I think he pushed me off the couch when I got home from the hospital, haha. But we became great friends. He is such a go-getter and a hard worker. When he sees something he wants, he goes after it maximum power. He'll talk your ear off, but he's super intelligent. I always had to work really hard for my A's... he seemed to get them naturally. How very annoying. ;) He is going to school for finance, and currently has two internships. He also owns his own company (based out of Provo)-- one that makes sick soft-goods for snowboarding. 
It's called Jib Kids. Check them out HERE, HERE, and HERE

This is my little-not-so-little sister, Sierra. But we actually call her "Seesa." Why? Because when I was 4 and she was going to be born, I thought it would be a rad name. And it stuck. It's my claim to fame, folks. She is one of the MOST AMAZING people I know. She is the calm in the craziness, she's so chill and level-headed. She is smart, multi-talented, and super funny. If I ever say a funny catch phrase, it's probably one I stole from her. I look up to her as a person and as a daughter of God. The picture above is at her graduation from massage therapy school. She now works as a massage therapist in CO. But you know, she's gotta top herself after that--she hopes to be accepted to BYU. Miss her like crazy.
PS, in this photo she is wearing heels and I am not. Just wanted to clear that up. 



Miley Cyrus aint got nothing on this little crazy. :) This is my little brother Skyler. He is twelve years younger than me and my favorite little person. He is smart as a whip, and usually uses that power to get out of stuff. ;) And that cute mug, of course. He remembers things so easily, I swear his mind is a dictionary. He loves legos and Minecraft. He's the only one of us that got Dad's blue eyes. He's already adorable--once puberty hits this kid is going to be drop dead gorgeous. He always makes me laugh and he has the best questions and the sweetest heart. 



My Mom got this dog a few months before I moved out--she was training a replacement child. ;) This is Zach, my Mom's baby. He's basically a cat-dog, he's so lazy and scared of stuff. Unless you are knocking at the door, he thinks he's the most terrifying guard dog around. But he loves junk food and snuggling, he's the sweetest little thing. And that face! I die. 


These awesome people are my Mom and Dad. They have such an amazing marriage and a deep love and respect for each other. Together they taught me (through their actions) exactly what a marriage should be. 

My Mom is so organized and prepared. I swear she thinks of everything. She has been a great example to me of how to run a household and raise a family. She helped me gain a testimony, and helped me develop a strong love of my country. She brought my family so close, I don't think any of us would have the amazing relationships with each other that we have if it weren't for her. I also wouldn't know anything, because she actually home-schooled all of us. I owe her the credit for my acceptance to and good grades in college. She is also funny, kind and thoughtful. She is an example and a role model for my life
 and future family. 

My Dad is truly someone I look up to. He is honest and hardworking and smart. He is a structural engineer that designs bridges. I love it when he comes to town on business, we always get dinner and I still run to hug him. He taught me what to expect from a future husband, how to hunt, how to shoot, and how to drive a boat. He taught me the value of hard work, and countless life skills in the process. He taught me to be disciplined and respectful. He taught me to be a good person, and love my Savior. 


And my amazing Hubby. When I started dating him I realized I was the luckiest girl in the world. Our anniversary is coming up, so I'll save the gushy posts for then, but... I love this man. With all my heart. 



Well, now you've met my family. Your life feels fulfilled now, doesn't it? ;)

xoxo

Friday, August 30, 2013

Can I Ask You A Favor?


Would you be a doll and send out some good football vibes to the GA Bulldogs? 
Their first game is tomorrow and Hubby will be UNBEARABLY upset if they lose. 
You know, girl drama < boy football drama. 

Mmmmmkay, thanks. :) 

Monday, June 17, 2013

Reliving the 90s... In Cartoons!

M and I enjoyed a very chill weekend. Some of our Sunday was spent reminiscing about 90's cartoons we used to watch. 

I'll admit, I wasn't a huge cartoon watcher. But there are a few cartoons/shows (from when I would stay at my Grandma's house--she had all the good channels) that I loved watching. And M had his favorites that he would always watch. Remember any of these?

Syd's Picks: 

DOUG

Arthur

Zoom 

Bill Nye the Science Guy

Digimon



M's Picks: 

Mighty Mouse

Mighty Max (Seeing a theme? :) )

Gargoyles 


We took turns watching bits of each other's shows and had a good laugh about how nerdy we were (Rather, M had a good laugh at how nerdy I was...). Oh well.

Way fun date night! Fun to imagine what each other's childhoods were like. :) 

What were your favorite 90s shows?? 
xoxo

Thursday, June 13, 2013

Holy Nosebleed Section, Batman

We went to another Real game on Saturday-- they played the LA Galaxy, so I guess for soccer fans it was a pretty big game. I'll admit, I am not a huge soccer fan, but I am getting into it more. :) 
Btw, they won 3-1. Woo!

Hubby's work offers discounted tickets, so we invited some friends along. Shout out to my friend Carrie, who reads my blog! Hiiiiii. :)


We were on the very top row, right in the sun for the entire first half and part of the second half...
And I mean riiiiiight in the sun. We were dying.



Can you tell from Hubby's face? Ha! PS, if you look closely at my neck/chest, you can see the crazy sunburn from our Farmer's Market Adventure.

Everybody say "SQUINT!" 

xoxo

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

Farmer's Market Adventure

On Saturday I we had the idea to go to the Downtown SLC Farmer's Market. I really wanted to go see what it was like. I had begged Hubby to go with me all last Summer but we had never quite found the time. Isn't that funny how a whole summer can slip through your fingers? Of course, we were both in school that summer. This summer we are trying to make the most of things!

So off the the Market we went. On foot. I was in flipflops. For 15 blocks. Yikes! I didn't really think that through, huh? I thought parking would be crazy and it was such a gorgeous day... So we walked it. It was really lovely, I love staring around at all the little details that make up a town. I love graffiti in alleyways, brick sidewalks, fresh flowerbeds, and a sky so sunny you have to squint when you stare up at all the tall/interesting buildings.





But it was also very warm and M was wearing jeans... he wasn't very happy with me. Oops, haha. I don't think he heard me when I told him the address. And we got to the Market and there were none of the big ripe strawberries I was hoping for. Boo. Maybe next time. And maybe next time I'll convince myself that I really do need those "one-of-a-kind" fabric covered stud earrings and the handmade ceramic spoon rest (which I actually have been wanting...) that are all insanely overpriced. Maybe.

(The only picture I got from the Market-- a painting that caught my eye. 
I'll definitely have to take more next time.)

So Hubs and I walked back the 15 blocks--him burning up in jeans and me trying to walk differently so I wouldn't rub the blisters on my feet... Now I have some huge blisters and a pretty crazy sunburn. 
And no fresh strawberries. 
Good Saturday outing, haha.

xoxo

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Anatomy of a Weekend

Hope everyone had a great Memorial Day weekend! A big thanks to all the troops past and present that have made it possible for me to do whatever the heck I want on this three-day weekend. 
Here's to freedom. 

We had a pretty great weekend! Saturday we went to a Real Salt Lake soccer game (my first ever soccer game) with some friends. It was fun to watch--those guys really don't stop running! 






On Sunday, I taught Sunday School and we did a bunch of church-y stuff. Haha.


Then on Memorial Day we went up to Bell Creek Canyon and hiked up to the waterfall. 








It was long and steep up to the waterfall, but it was worth it! I don't think my broken toe was very happy with me, but oh well. Haha.
We definitely had a chill day after that... Jamba Juice may or may not have been involved... :)

Hope everyone had a great weekend!
xoxo

Friday, May 24, 2013

Friday Favorites!


Oooh boy. My Hubby is definitely a favorite this week. I mean, a trip to the spa for my birthday?? Relaxation while other people rub MY back (I usually rub Hubby's, but I don't mind--I love to do it)... That is heaven, people. 

So this gorgeous guy I get for all eternity (jealous? I know...) is definitely a favorite all the time, but a SUPER-favorite this week. :)   



My other present... This fantastic classic of a bag. I expect many uses out of this baby.
For the price, it better outlive me! Not joking


This mud mask is so great. Blackheads were significantly less and pores smaller after just one usage. 




Anybody remember this guy? 

You're welcome. 


I'm thinking Canadian bacon, olives, and green peppers. YUM. 
A little bit easier way to fuel my pizza obsession.


Interesting find of the week (#onourwalk)

Totally random rock sculptures right in the middle of town. 
If you didn't know it was there, you would never find it. 

I mean, who doesn't want to see Joseph Smith as a Sphinx?? 

(Ok, you're right. It's super weird. But fun.)






What are your favorites??

xoxo

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Thoughts on 23



Welp, I guess I can't sing this song anymore...

Today is my birthday, and I really liked this quote (pictured above) that my friend pinned on Pinterest. 
It really encompasses everything I want to strive for this year. I have a bad habit of comparing myself, especially as an artist, to others. It ends now! 

Well... Maybe tomorrow? Hahaha. 

But really, I just want to spend this next year being an even better me. There are so many fun and challenging things coming up for me this year. Some things I am terrified about. Some things I am super stoked about. But overall I'm ready for whatever comes. 

I'm really grateful for my family and friends. And although (as some of you may know) I may not be Utah's biggest fan, M and I have made some great friends here. Grateful to everyone in my life (especially my family) that has helped me survive this long. ;) 

Now... Here's to a day of work (a day spent wondering what M's surprise he keeps mentioning is) and a kick-ass free Red Robin burger for dinner. 

Self, it's going to be a good day. 

xoxo

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

25 Random Facts


  1. Strawberries are my favorite fruit. 
  2. Summer is my favorite season.
  3. But I don't like it to be over 85 degrees. Too hot for me. 
  4. I will never be a vegetarian. I love meat too much. 
  5. I have been big game hunting--I've gotten a deer and an elk. 
  6. I should wear glasses. 
  7. But I hardly ever do (except for driving and movie watching). 
  8. I suck at fishing. 
  9. I love the smell of a campfire.
  10. Things always tend to go wrong when I cook and multi-task... But I always do it anyway...
  11. I only dated my Hubby for 4 weeks before we got engaged. 
  12. But we knew we were going to get married at 2 weeks.  (!!)
  13. I have an obsession with office supplies. New notebooks are my crazy weakness.
  14. I love giving personal gifts--and generally I think I am pretty good at it.  
  15. I could eat pizza every night of the week. 
  16. I will always say yes to Red Robin fries-- best. ever.
  17. I always have super weird dreams. 
  18. I teach gospel doctrine classes at my church
  19. When someone is freaking out, I tend to be more calm (and vice versa).
  20. My ideal vacation spot would be Hawaii or Australia (neither of which I have been to...yet). 
  21. I will sleep anywhere, anytime. My Mother affectionately calls me homeless. 
  22. Growing up, I would spend full days out on the trampoline with my siblings. 
  23. I was once blown off the trampoline while playing a game of sail (holding a sheet against the wind and bouncing). 
  24. I consider Colorado my home, but I was actually born in Pennsylvania.  
  25. It took me forever to do this. 

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Spring Break

In my dreams, I am getting ready to travel to a tropical climate with very fashionable clothes for a week of no cares with my Hubby. 

In reality, we are both up super late worried/studying for tomorrow's midterms. 

Well, I can dream. And now you can dream with me: 

We would find little hole in the wall restaurants with foods we can't pronounce and wander streets and quaint shops forever. We would go horseback riding in the ocean and Hubby would beat me in the race across the beach. We would snuggle and watch sunsets swim and 
never look at a watch, calendar, or phone. 

This is one of the outfits I would wear on our hypothetical vacation--that dress is classy enough to wear around into the shops and restaurants, but simple enough to throw on over my swimsuit. 


 I love this trendy tribal suit and this super easy maxi dress. Both are a no-brainer for my vacation. 

Are you getting the wonderful, beautiful, unrealistic picture? 

Mmmm.... Me too. :) I think I will let it follow me into my dreams tonight. 

xoxo

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Today I Want to Dream


I woke up this morning frustrated. 

I woke up frustrated with the unfinished school project due tomorrow, and the deadlines I have set for myself which I will probably miss. I woke up frustrated at the load of sh*t I had to carry to school and work because of our current car situation and large bag of props for projects. 

I woke up frustrated that I have all these things I want to learn that I don't seem to have time for. For the person I want to become that seems to keep falling by the wayside. 

I woke up frustrated at the bitter wind that slapped me in the face this morning as I locked our front door, sh*t in tow, completely unready to face the day. 

And M could tell. We drove in silence, said I love you, and went our separate ways to work. And then his sweet text to "keep my head up" reminded me that it is ok to feel overwhelmed. 
He totally got it, and let me have my time to be a cranky mess. 

So I will breathe. 

And I will dream. 

And then I will pull my lazy butt out of the clouds, stop complaining, and get to friggen work. 

Friday, February 8, 2013

New Year, New School, New Busy Schedule

Wow! Already February... Can't believe I missed blogging Christmas and New Year--we have a few things to catch up on! 

For Christmas, we drove back to The Promised Land (aka Colorado) and stayed with my parents. It was so great to see my fam and Marcus's families. Yay for holiday breaks and family time!

My Mom's mantle decoration

My first Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate--in a lovely holiday cup

My DIY peter pan collar

Driving away from the Denver skyline

Christmas lights at Temple Square


Right before New Years, Hubby and I moved to a little apartment closer to downtown (and I really like it!). It is older, but it just feels cozy and more like a home. But boy I am glad to be done moving! What a pain in the butt. And the UHaul I reserved was not nearly as big as it said online....Hubby had to do a little, um, creative packing. 




So glad to be done with that mess. We are pretty much all settled in--besides a few floating shelves that Hubby has procrastinated hanging. :(


I also started at another new school (#foreveratransferstudent) in January. My classes are pretty cool, but there is a lot of homework to be done! As I write this, I should probably be doing one of three other projects. >.< 

Oh, well. I have to make time for things I want to do too, riiiight? What's that? That's what I said when I was watching the Bachelor? Hm. I need to think up a few more justification excuses. I'll probably go do that instead of homework. ;)



Some Favorites for a Friday: 

Music Video: 

Newly discovered blog/vlog:

Recipes I am TOTALLY trying this weekend (or soon):